Ruth Hancock Scholarship

Ruth Hancock was universally admired in the Canadian broadcasting industry for her diligence, her enthusiasm, her fair-minded approach and her willingness to help others personally and professionally.

For 12 years she was manager of the Toronto office of the Canadian Association of Broadcasters, and executive secretary of both the Broadcast Executives Society and the Central Canada Broadcasters’ Association.

In 1973, Ruth Hancock joined the CTV Network as Director of Promotion and Public Relations, and was appointed that same year as the executive assistant to the President of CTV. Ruth was diagnosed with cancer in June 1973 and passed away on December 12, 1973.

In 1974, a scholarship fund was established in her memory by CTV, Broadcast Executives (BES) and the Canadian Association of Broadcasters (CAB).

Ruth had a keen interest in seeing young people have the opportunity to expand their talents in the industry she loved and served so well.

The criteria on which applicants are judged best exemplify the admirable qualities of Ruth Hancock. The Ruth Hancock Scholarships are designed to encourage talented, hard-working students to pursue careers in Canadian broadcasting or broadcast sales/marketing.

Ruth Hancock Scholarship - Information Package

Application deadline: June 15th, 2017

2017 Winners

Selenna Ho - BCIT
Pierre-Einuj Paul - Ryerson University
Cheyenne Bergenhenegouwen - BCIT

2016 Winners

Naina Grewal - Simon Fraser University
Sierra Sun - Ryerson University
Amanda Viveiros - Western University

2015 Winners

Olivia Chandler - York University
Chris Thomson - Ryerson University
Melissa Scicluna - Ryerson University

2014 Winners

Geneva Nam - McGill University
Melissa Scicluna - Ryerson University
Katlyn Pettipas - University of King's College